Stages of Change and the Body You Always Wanted

Do you want to make a lifestyle change?  Most of you reading this will say YES.  Are you ready to make a lifestyle change?  Read more to find out.

I first saw the stages of change model in a psychology class I took in University and saw it again in a workshop I took at a Can Fit Pro conference.  The stages of change model is a tool used to assess a person’s readiness to make a change in a particular behaviour.  This model is most often used with drug addicts or alcoholics, but can be used for any behaviour that needs to be changed.

Your lifestyle is a set of behaviours that defines who you are, so in order for a lifestyle change to take place behaviours must change.  If you would like to see a change in your body there are two areas that most people need a behavioural change: Physical Inactivity and Nutrition.  When I look at client’s nutrition habits these are behaviours that most often need to be changed: not eating breakfast, skipping meals, drinking too many calories, and eating highly processed foods.  In terms of physical inactivity the behaviours that usually need to be changed are: too many screens (TV, computer, video games, etc), and work schedule (time management).  All of these things eventually tie together but you can’t change everything at once, it is too overwhelming, it is best to start with one and once you have accomplished one the rest will follow (but only if you choose). 

Is one of the behaviours above the reason you aren’t achieving your ideal body?  Take a look at the condensed model below to see where you fit in.

Stage One: Precontemplation

You have no interest in changing your behaviour because you don’t see your behaviour as being a problem. 

Stage Two: Contemplation

You are aware of the behaviour that needs to change, you are weighing the pros and cons of change. 

Stage Three: Preparation

You have decided to make a change and are researching what it takes to make a permanent change.

Stage Four: Action

You are consciously making decisions to change your behaviour and have strategies in place to help you succeed.

Stage Five: Maintenance

You have made the change and have developed coping techniques to avoid relapsing to your old behaviour.

Stage Six: Termination

You are no longer tempted by your old behaviour.


The return from action or maintenance to an earlier stage.


If you took the time to read this you are past the precontemplation stage and are on your way to making a permanent lifestyle change.  Contact me with any questions you may have or if you would like my help in achieving the body you have always wanted!

Josh Neumann, BHK, PTS, TSCC-1

Monday and Thursday #FitTip at